(Not so boring) New Year’s goals

Image

Now that it’s New Year’s eve and I won’t be celebrating at a friend’s house as usual because I’m sick this year, I’ll list my goals for 2014. They’re not boring, I promise. If you have the same goals or want to share your own, feel free to comment below!

1. Get more humanitarian. Okay, bad grammar aside, I want to get involved in social work, i.e. helping out in soup kitchens, advocating women’s rights & LGBTQ rights, as well as little acts of kindness such as picking up change somebody dropped and handing it back to them, or giving up my bus seat to the elderly or those who need it more than I do.

2. Get healthy. This includes physical and emotional health. 2013 has been a bad year for both my health needs, and I can definitely help myself by taking more walks outside if the gym is too far to go to, and go to those counseling sessions. Mental health is just as important as physical health.

3. Don’t be afraid to push yourself. I’m a college student that surprisingly hasn’t pulled an all-nighter yet… perhaps due to good study habits and also due to being unable to stay up past 2AM. I’m kind of proud of my healthy sleeping habits, but I can be more careful when editing my essays and get them done earlier. I can be more assertive in job interviews and even as an introvert, push myself to talk more often in classes and give talks on the importance of mental health, as well as other issues dear to me. I can also practice driving more, as it’s a bit pathetic having to drive around with a parent next to you when you have a license already but not enough practice (so my parents think) to hit the road by myself.

4. Don’t keep everything bottled in. But be aware of who you’re telling your secrets to, so you know you’ll get the right support and advice that’s both meaningful and necessary.

5. Slow down and spend time for yourself. When I was younger, I would always say ‘yes’ to things and still have a tendency to do so. This includes hanging out with friends to accompanying a violinist on the piano even when I have no actual will to do so. Saying ‘no’ is powerful and I will say it more often and put myself first, because sometimes I need to. And no, it’s not selfish if it’s healthy and feels right for myself.

6. Don’t be wasteful. This includes money, food, clothing, whatever. Buy, eat, (insert verb here) what you need and refuse what you don’t need. You can save yourself a few extra dollars that can always come in handy later.

7. Say what you need to say. [I posted about this, and you can read it here: https://classyasfemme.wordpress.com/2013/12/13/listening/ ]

8. Hang out with people you love, separate yourself from those whose presence isn’t beneficial to you for whatever reason. This can be hard, especially when there’s a good friend involved who is doing something shady but is otherwise a good person. I have one (alright, more than one) of those friends. This is also related to saying no, but if that friend continues doing their shady business which might be affecting the friendship, it may be time to reevaluate the friendship. A break from some people in your life is completely normal and healthy. Who knows, maybe the break will be just what the other party needs to realize something they are doing is wrong and they need you back in their life! if not, then you’re probably better off without them.

 

Raise your glasses for that sparkling cider or champagne if you’re of age…here’s to a new year!!! Best wishes & Cheers :]

 

About Classyasfemme

"Those of us with the power to speak must speak" -Staceyann Chin College student doing some reflecting and soul-searching. Will occasionally write about the immigrant diaspora, sexuality, religion, social justice, loss, and offer advice. Most of the time it will be scrambling for answers to questions I don't know the answers to. I write as a way to express what otherwise might be forgotten in passing. I write to heal, I write to forgive, and I write for equality. Thanks for reading about bits and bobs of my little life. Keep on smiling. Profile picture is a series of body art photos done by Chinese artist Huang Yan by the way. Feel free to look him up if you're curious. View all posts by Classyasfemme

Leave a Reply

Champaign-Urbana Radical Reading Group

A monthly books and music club for people with an anti-authoritarian/anti-capitalist perspective. "Revolutions can, and often have, begun with reading." -Arundhati Roy

thenerdsofcolor

Pop Culture with a Different Perspective

KTLA

Los Angeles News and Video for Southern California

TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

Love Harder

Women of Color Working It Out

The Crunk Feminist Collective

Where Crunk Meets Conscious and Feminism Meets Cool

andrea smith's blog

The 18 year plan to end global oppression

Spark: A Creative Anthology

Spark is a quarterly anthology accepting Poetry, Flash Fiction, Short Stories, and Creative Non-Fiction. We encourage both established and emerging talent.

Mission Bible Class

Free resources for sharing God's Word with children

BY JESSICA NGUYEN

my journey is not linear.

Blooming Lotus

Journey to Recovery from Childhood Abuse

The Invisible Scar

raising awareness of emotional child abuse, its effects on adult survivors & the power of words on children

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

HelloBeautiful

Celebrity News & Style for Black Women

